• Tennis

During his first year as head coach at Saints, Ruben Carriedo saw his 2012-13 Varsity Team earn a 1st Place Finish at the season-opening First Serve Tournament, an 8-12 regular season record, a semifinal finish with a 2-1 record in the CIF Division III playoffs, in addition to a Junior Varsity won-loss tally of 6-4. Despite the loss of players Luis Miranda, Joe Saad, Michael Balourdas, and Edrick Drachenberg to graduation, Coach Carriedo and Assistant Coach Jim Bacon are looking forward to a promising 2013-14 campaign, selecting a 40-member roster, the largest squad assembled in St. Augustine High School tennis history.

Coach Carriedo

This year’s Varsity squad is led by senior co-captains Patrick Hagan and Lawrence Liu. Freshman Jacob Yudiono, sophomore Aaron Nepomuceno, and junior Marcelo Hernandez anchor the Varsity lineup. Seniors Ricardo Astiazaran and Matt Marty, juniors Ricardo Alvarez, Fernando Vallejo, and Rodrigo Castellanos, sophomore Jose Luis Vallejo and freshman Mauricio Alvarez provide great balance to the squad. Krauss Drachenberg, Josh Morones, and Alvaro Luken round out the team.

The Junior Varsity squad consists of two teams led by sophomores Jon Cordero (Team Gold) and Ramiro Lopez (Team Purple). Freshmen Antonio Landa, David Pack, and junior Evan Brannigan bring great strength to the singles roster, along with Desi Charfauros and Hugo Mora. Esteban Espana with Cordero, Dario Mena and Javier Stonehouse are formidable doubles duos.

St. Augustine High School continues its rich tradition of fielding a competitive tennis program that has produced local, regional, and national tennis champions over the last seventy-five years. The Saints program is committed to nurturing the development of ranked tournament-level players, as well as beginners and novice players who progress steadily over a four-year period. It is not unusual for a freshman who starts as a novice or beginner to earn a Varsity letter by the end of his high school career.

The team uses the Balboa Tennis Club (BTC) at Morley Field in Balboa Park as its home courts for both practice and league matches. The site boasts one of the finest tennis facilities in the country, offering 24 lighted courts. Regularly hosting many tournaments for juniors and adults, the BTC was rated as America’s Best Public Tennis Facility by the United States Tennis Association (USTA) in 1989, voted Club of the Year by the San Diego District Tennis Association in 2000, and earned the USTA’s Outstanding Tennis Facility award for large facilities in the United States in 2003.

For more information contact head coach Ruben Carriedo.